2.7.15

Third Sentence Thursday (6): Partials (Partials Sequence #1) by Dan Wells

Third Sentence Thursday (6): July 2, 2015
Partials (Partials Sequence #1) by Dan Wells
Sorry this meme has been so quiet over the past couple of weeks. I am going to plan ahead for July and August for it so that you guys can always catch a glimpse of a super fun book that I have on my bookshelf! Without further ado, here are three sentences from Partials, the first in the Partials Sequence, by Dan Wells.
 

(1) "It was Friday. Rebuilding Day. Time for a party." p. 82

(2) "'I am tired of explaining why that is impossible.'" p. 187

(3) "Another yacht reared up, missing them by half an arm's length, and then they were once again lost in the rolling limbo of the open sea." p. 374


Goodreads Synopsis
For fans of The Hunger Games, Battlestar Galactica, and Blade Runner comes the first book in the Partials Sequence, a fast-paced, action-packed, and riveting sci-fi teen series, by acclaimed author Dan Wells.

Humanity is all but extinguished after a war with Partials—engineered organic beings identical to humans—has decimated the population. Reduced to only tens of thousands by a weaponized virus to which only a fraction of humanity is immune, the survivors in North America have huddled together on Long Island. But sixteen-year-old Kira is determined to find a solution. As she tries desperately to save what is left of her race, she discovers that that the survival of both humans and Partials rests in her attempts to answer questions about the war's origin that she never knew to ask.

Playing on our curiosity of and fascination with the complete collapse of civilization, Partials is, at its heart, a story of survival, one that explores the individual narratives and complex relationships of those left behind, both humans and Partials alike—and of the way in which the concept of what is right and wrong in this world is greatly dependent on one's own point of view. 

No comments:

Post a Comment

Thanks for commenting! I cherish each and every comment. If you leave me a link to your blog, I will do my best to comment back!